Collaborative Doctoral Awards

Listed below are the successful Collaborative Doctoral Award projects for entry in October 2020. These are supervisor-led projects in partnership with a non-HE organisations. Applicants are invited to submit an expression of interest by the deadline stated in the full project details. 

Prospective applicants to the Collaborative Doctoral Awards are required to meet the AHRC's eligibility criteria and submit a postgraduate application form to the relevant institution as outlined in How to Apply.

We would like to draw your attention to two projects inviting Expressions of Interest from prospective applicants by deadlines in March:

Historic landscape change in Northumberland’s upland valleys (HiLand)
Newcastle University and Northumberland National Park Authority - Deadline 31 March 2020
Contact: Prof. Sam Turner - sam.turner@newcastle.ac.uk

Placing Astronomy: Landscape, Space and Science at Armagh Observatory, 1790-1916
Queen’s University Belfast and Armagh Observatory and Planetarium - Deadline 16 March 2020
Contact: Dr Oliver Dunnett - o.dunnett@qub.ac.uk

Placing Astronomy_Person Specification

Earlier Deadlines: 

(Re)Creating History: Exploring embodied performances through immersive technologies
Northumbria University and PROTO: The Emerging Technology Centre
Contact: Prof. Lars Erik Holmquist - lars.holmquist@northumbria.ac.uk

Arts Institutions and the Future of Civic Learning
Northumbria University and BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art
Contact: Prof. Andrea Phillips - andrea.phillips@northumbria.ac.uk

Feeding Medieval Carrickfergus- A Multi-proxy Study of Livestock Husbandry in a Frontier Town
Queen’s University Belfast and the Historic Environment Division (HED), Depatment for Communities NI (DfC)
Contact: Prof. Eileen Murphy - eileen.murphy@qub.ac.uk

Feeding Medieval Carrickfergus Person Specification

Histories, Collections and Practice: Gender and the Regional Art Gallery
Northumbria University and the Laing Art Gallery
Contact: Dr Claudine van Hensbergen - Claudine.vanhensbergen@northumbria.ac.uk

Intellectual Life at Newcastle’s Literary and Philosophical Society, 1793-1825
Newcastle University and The Literary and Philosophical Society
Contact: Prof. Federico Santangelo - federico.santangelo@ncl.ac.uk

Intellectual Life_Person Spec

Mapping the Cultural Geography of Sam Henry’s Irish Song Archive
Ulster University and the Causeway Coast and Glens Borough Council Museum Services
Contact: Frank Ferguson - f.ferguson@ulster.ac.uk

Mapping Cultural Geography Person Specification

Northumberland National Park: Governmentality and the Recent and Not-So-Recent History of Thirlwell Castle
Northumbria University and Northumberland National Park Authority
Contact: Prof. Matthew Kelly - matthew.j.kelly@northumbria.ac.uk

Oral History’s Design: A creative collaboration. Sustaining visitor (re)use of oral histories on heritage sites: The National Trust’s Seaton Delaval Hall case study
Newcastle University and The National Trust
Contact: Prof. Graham Smith - Graham.Smith@newcastle.ac.uk

Peer Power: Scotland and northern England under the 5th and 6th dukes of Buccleuch, c.1820-c.1914
Newcastle University and Buccleuch Living Heritage Trust
Contact: Dr Annie Tindley - Annie.Tindley@newcastle.ac.uk

Peer Power_Person Specification

Reconstructing the Library of James VI and I
Newcastle University and the National Library of Scotland
Contact: Dr Rachel Hammersely - rachel.hammersley@ncl.ac.uk

Library of James VI and I_Person Specification

Systemic Inclusion: Representation and Diversity in UK Literary Festivals
Teesside University and Sabotage Reviews
Contact: Dr Jenna Clake - J.Clake@tees.ac.uk

Systemic Inclusion_Person Specification

The EU and the museum: an investigation of cross-border museum projects in Ireland
Ulster University and Irish Museums Association
Contact: Prof. Elizabeth Crooke - em.crooke@ulster.ac.uk

The EU and Museum Person Specification

The field site and the photographic archive: Landscape archaeology, photography, and the post-war imagination through the lens of the South Etruria Survey, 1955-1975
Durham University and The British School at Rome
Contact: Dr Robert Witcher - r.e.witcher@durham.ac.uk

Field Site and Photographic Archive Person Specification

The National Union of Students (NUS) and its Internationalisms, 1922-2022
Northumbria University and the National Union of Students (NUS)
Contact: Dr Daniel Laqua - daniel.laqua@northumbria.ac.uk

Voices of Ulster's Poor: Charitable Requests, 1850s-1920s
Ulster University and Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI)
Contact: Dr Leanne McCormick - lv.mccormick@ulster.ac.uk

Voices of Ulster's Poor Person Specification

Women, the Arts and Patronage: The Delavals of Seaton Delaval Hall
Northumbria University and the National Trust
Contact: Dr Helen Williams - helen.williams@northumbria.ac.uk